MenuSpyRestaurant intelligence

MenuSpy / City reports / Phoenix, AZ

Market snapshot · October 2026

Phoenix, AZ restaurant market snapshot

What local menus charge, which weeks fill the town, and which rules change the math, for operators in Phoenix, AZ. Every number links to the page it came from.

Market: Phoenix, AZ · Maricopa CountyPage checked: October 2026For: owners, GMs, new concepts
Short answer

In Phoenix, AZ (checked October 2026), we read 3 prices from 1 local menus. Restaurant meals are taxed at 8.90%, the minimum wage is $15.15 per hour, and 2 events have published dates in the next twelve months.

1,665,481PopulationPopulation estimates, July 1, 2025 (V2025)
$81,332Median household income2020-2024
8.90%Meals taxstate + local
$15.15Minimum wageeffective 2026-01-01
3Prices observed1 menus, October 2026

WM Phoenix Open 2026 charitable raise (organizer page): record $20.1 million for local charities (2026 tournament) source

Population and income: US Census QuickFacts.

Observed menu prices

3 prices read from 1 independent menu on October 1, 2026, from the restaurants' own websites or first-party ordering pages. Delivery-app prices are excluded. A median is shown only when three or more observations exist. This is a small sample; use it as a range check, not a rule.

Benchmark itemObservationsLowMedianHigh
Taco plate (3 tacos)1$3.99n too small$3.99
Breakfast plate (2 eggs, meat, side)1$11.00n too small$11.00
Fountain soda1$3.00n too small$3.00

Part of the MenuSpy Menu Price Index. Restaurant names are kept in our source file and not published; a paid report names them and links each menu.

The next 12 months

Dates come from organizer or official pages opened on October 1, 2026. An event with a published 2026 or 2027 date is marked confirmed. Everything else is a recurring pattern with its date not yet announced, listed so you can watch for it, not staff for it.

Confirmed dates

Confirmed date

Arizona State Fair 2026

Thu - Sun, Oct 1 - Nov 1, 2026, 1826 W. McDowell Rd, Phoenix · Arizona State Fair

A month of Thursday-Sunday fair crowds competes with and spills over to central Phoenix restaurants.

Organizer or official listing

Confirmed date

WM Phoenix Open 2027

FEBRUARY 8-14, 2027, TPC Scottsdale · WM Phoenix Open / The Thunderbirds

The highest-attended golf tournament week in the country floods Scottsdale and north Phoenix restaurants and bars.

Organizer or official listing

Rules that hit the P&L

In force

Minimum wage: $15.15 per hour

Effective January 1, 2026. Arizona indexes its rate each January. The tipped figure was not stated on the page checked; confirm with the ICA poster.

Industrial Commission of Arizona, 2026 minimum wage release

In force

Sales tax on restaurant meals: 8.90%

AZDOR TPT rate table effective January 1, 2026: Table 1 Maricopa County, Restaurants and Bars (business code 011) 6.10% (document header states base state rate 5.6%); Table 2 City of Phoenix code 011 2.80%. City of Phoenix finance bulletin: restaurants and bars rate increased from 2.30% to 2.80% effective July 1, 2025. Sum 6.10% + 2.80% = 8.90%.

State revenue department

Licensing

Food service license

The licensing agency for this city was not confirmed when this page was checked. Start with the county or state health department.

Local signals

Recent local reporting on the Phoenix restaurant scene. One article is a signal, not a trend; a trend needs two independent publishers.

Single signal

August 2026: Palo Verde Lounge closes after 62 years; three downtown Chandler restaurants shut at once

PHOENIX magazine's August roundup lists openings including Roman God of Fire (Tempe), Stray Café (Phoenix) and Cien Agaves (Chandler), against closures of the 62-year-old Palo Verde Lounge in Tempe and Recreo, Tipsy Egg and The Uncommon in downtown Chandler.

PHOENIX magazine, 2026-09-02

Coverage and limits

This is a dated snapshot built from public pages opened on October 1, 2026. It is not a sales forecast, legal advice or a site approval. Menus, calendars and rules change; open the linked source before acting.

Not confirmed when this page was checked:

Questions operators ask

What is the sales tax on restaurant meals in Phoenix, AZ?

8.90%. AZDOR TPT rate table effective January 1, 2026: Table 1 Maricopa County, Restaurants and Bars.

What is the minimum wage for restaurant workers in Phoenix?

$15.15 per hour, effective January 1, 2026. Arizona indexes its rate each January. The tipped figure was not stated on the page checked; confirm with the ICA poster.

Want this for one restaurant in Phoenix?

A one-time $79 report names the nearby menus, links every price, lists a year of local dates and the rules that apply to your address. Sources linked. No account.

Get your report · $79 See the example

Related: all city reports · menu price index · restaurant pricing strategy guide