MenuSpy / City reports / Columbus, OH
Market snapshot · October 2026
Columbus, OH restaurant market snapshot
What local menus charge, which weeks fill the town, and which rules change the math, for operators in Columbus, OH. Every number links to the page it came from.
In Columbus, OH (checked October 2026), we read 10 prices from 2 local menus. Restaurant meals are taxed at 8.00%, the minimum wage is $11.00 per hour ($5.50 tipped cash wage), and 1 events have published dates in the next twelve months.
Population and income: US Census QuickFacts.
Observed menu prices
10 prices read from 2 independent menus on October 1, 2026, from the restaurants' own websites or first-party ordering pages. Delivery-app prices are excluded. A median is shown only when three or more observations exist. This is a small sample; use it as a range check, not a rule.
| Benchmark item | Observations | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheeseburger | 1 | $5.99 | n too small | $5.99 |
| Chicken sandwich | 1 | $5.99 | n too small | $5.99 |
| Large cheese pizza | 2 | $10.99 | n too small | $19.50 |
| Wings (10 or closest count) | 2 | $12.00 | n too small | $14.99 |
| Entree salad with protein | 2 | $6.99 | n too small | $13.00 |
| Fountain soda | 2 | $1.25 | n too small | $2.99 |
Part of the MenuSpy Menu Price Index. Restaurant names are kept in our source file and not published; a paid report names them and links each menu.
The next 12 months
Dates come from organizer or official pages opened on October 1, 2026. An event with a published 2026 or 2027 date is marked confirmed. Everything else is a recurring pattern with its date not yet announced, listed so you can watch for it, not staff for it.
Confirmed dates
Ohio State Buckeyes 2026 home football season (Ohio Stadium)
Home games Sep 5 (Ball State), Sep 19 (Kent State), Sep 26 (Illinois), Nov 7 (Oregon), Nov 14 (Northwestern), Nov 28 (Michigan) · Ohio State Athletics
Six 100,000-seat home Saturdays, capped by The Game vs Michigan, drive the biggest single-day restaurant and bar surges in Columbus.
Recurring, dates not yet announced
Arnold Sports Festival
Organizer page says 'WE'RE BACK IN 2027!' with no specific Columbus dates stated · Arnold Sports Festival
A multi-day convention-center event that fills downtown and Arena District hotels and restaurants in late winter.
Rules that hit the P&L
Minimum wage: $11.00 per hour, tipped cash wage $5.50
Effective January 1, 2026. Applies to employers with annual gross receipts above the state threshold; smaller employers may pay the federal rate.
Sales tax on restaurant meals: 8.00%
Ohio Department of Taxation 'Sales and Use Tax Rates by County, October 1, 2026 - December 31, 2026' lists Franklin County at 8.00% (UST code 25); state rate 5.75% (code 89). The table does not itemize the county/transit components.
Food service license
The licensing agency for this city was not confirmed when this page was checked. Start with the county or state health department.
Local signals
Recent local reporting on the Columbus restaurant scene. One article is a signal, not a trend; a trend needs two independent publishers.
New Central Ohio restaurants slated for 2026
NBC4 lists 2026 openings including Cava near Polaris and in Hilliard, Jaggers near Polaris, Wolf's Ridge Brewing taking over the historic Worthington Inn, Viva Mexican Kitchen in the Arena District, and a new Mediterranean restaurant replacing the closed Milestone 229 on the downtown riverfront.
Coverage and limits
This is a dated snapshot built from public pages opened on October 1, 2026. It is not a sales forecast, legal advice or a site approval. Menus, calendars and rules change; open the linked source before acting.
Not confirmed when this page was checked:
- Food service licensing agency (Columbus Public Health) page not fetched within budget.
- No official tourism bureau visitor figure captured.
- Events: Columbus Arts Festival, Columbus Pride, Jazz & Rib Fest not fetched; Arnold Sports Festival 2027 dates not stated on organizer page.
- Only one 2026 local-news signal captured.
- Price observations: no taco, Cuban, breakfast plate, draft beer, or fountain soda captured; Iacono's pizza size not stated; wings sold by pound at Iacono's and 12-count at Castello.
Questions operators ask
What is the sales tax on restaurant meals in Columbus, OH?
8.00%. Ohio Department of Taxation 'Sales and Use Tax Rates by County, October 1, 2026 - December 31, 2026' lists Franklin County at 8.00%.
What is the minimum wage for restaurant workers in Columbus?
$11.00 per hour, with a tipped cash wage of $5.50, effective January 1, 2026. Applies to employers with annual gross receipts above the state threshold; smaller employers may pay the federal rate.
Want this for one restaurant in Columbus?
A one-time $79 report names the nearby menus, links every price, lists a year of local dates and the rules that apply to your address. Sources linked. No account.
Related: all city reports · menu price index · restaurant pricing strategy guide